All-star line-up of speakers at 22nd AGM in Ottawa, April 18-20;
Last chance to register: April 12 is cut-off date

Our 22nd Annual General Meeting in Ottawa, April 18-20, will be the best-attended AGM we’ve ever held in Canada, including the largest-ever participation by Canadian government officials, senior executives of leading Mongolian companies and Mongolians living in Canada.  

An updated program schedule and a registration form can be downloaded below. April 12 is the cut-off for all registrations because of space limitations at our primary venue, the Courtyard Marriott Ottawa Hotel. No walk-in registrations can be accepted.

Our AGM is made possible through the generous support of our sponsors: Rio Tinto, Centerra Gold, Wagner Asia, Heenan Blaikie, Erdenes MGL and Erdenes Tavan Tolgoi PSC.

The all-star line-up of speakers includes three ambassadors, CEOs of two of Mongolia’s largest and most profitable banks, the executive director of the Mongolian National Mining Association,  the deputy executive director of Erdenes MGL, the CEO of Mongolia’s first think-tank,  the deputy chairman of Mongolia’s largest private company specializing in infrastructure, the CEO of the Standards Commission of Canada and other senior Canadian Government officials, and  senior executives of the leading foreign mining companies in Mongolia. For the full list, download the program schedule below.

NAMBC Members get a 20% discount when registering second and other delegates from the same member company or organization. Special registration rates are available for university teachers and students and for members of the Canadian Alumni of Mongolia (CAM) and the US Alumni of Mongolia (USAM). See the registration form below for details.  

A few rooms are still available at “best available rate” at the Courtyard Marriott, which may or may not be higher than the special group rate of C$159 per night plus 13% Harmonized Sales Tax for single or double occupancy. March 18 was the cut-off date for guaranteed group rate rooms. At this point, you should make your reservations directly by telephone, fax or email. Be sure to mention the group rate code --“NAM” – and give your check-in and checkout dates. Contact Marian Habib, Guest Services Manager, Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa; Telephone: 613-241-1000 ext. 522; Fax: 613-241-4804; email: [email protected]  You will not be charged for the room if your cancel your reservation at least 48 hours before your scheduled check-in.

Among the distinguished speakers at Ottawa will be the following:

Ambassador Tundevdorj  Zalaa-Uul has served as Mongolia’s envoy to Canada since November 2009. Prior to his current post, he was Counselor of the Department of the Americas , Middle East and Africa at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade in Ulaanbaatar . Previously, he served two tours in Romania, one as Charge d’Affaires, and as Counselor at the Mongolian Embassy to India. He is a graduate of the University of Bucharest and the University of Political Science in Ulaanbaatar. Ambassador Zalaa-Uul is the author of two books and has been decorated with the Mongolian Order of the Polar Star and the Order of Freedom.  

Ambassador J. Gregory “Greg” Goldhawk has been Canada’s ambassador to Mongolia since August 2010. Previous international assignments included Bangkok, Thailand; Atlanta, Georgia, USA; Sydney, Australia; Athens, Greece; and Washington, DC, with intervening stops in Ottawa as Deputy Director for US Trade & Investment Development, and later as Deputy Director, Korea & Oceanic Asia at DFAIT. He received his Master in International Relations from Carleton University in 1979, and a Masters of Business Administration degree in 1981 from the University of Western Ontario’s Richard Ivey School. 

Ambassador Kh. Bekhbat has served as Mongolia’s ambassador to the US since April 2008. Previously, he was State Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, which is the top foreign service post in the ministry.. A distinguished and internationally admired career officer of Mongolia’s foreign service, he has served as Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Policy Advisor to the President, as Mongolia’s ambassador to France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Switzerland and Liechtenstein and as Mongolia’s Permanent Representative to the UN, WTO and other International Organizations in Geneva, Vienna, and Rome.

Algaa Namgaryn has been Executive Director of the Mongolian National Mining Association (MNMA) since 2000. He was previously Executive Director of the Khailaast Gold Mining Company and served in senior executive capacities for Mongolian-Canadian and Mongolian-Korean joint venture companies. He received his degree as a. metallurgical engineer from the Ural Polytechnic Institute in Russia and later took graduate training in Japan at Tohoku University. For more than a decade,  Algaa has played a key role in increasing Mongolian mining companies’ input to government policy- and decision-making and in making the MNMA into a strong advocate for balanced mining laws and regulations. 

Ms. Battsetseg Shagdar is the President & CEO of The Elbegdorj Institute (EBI), a post to which she was appointed in 2008. EBI is an independent, non-profit, non-partisan “think tank” that seeks to “promote the development of democracy, equality and free markets.” Battsetseg previously served as Director of Foreign Relationships at the Mongolian Employers Federation and as Director of the Labor Department at the Ministry of Social Welfare and Labor. She is a graduate of the Mongolian University of Humanities. Battsetseg is a frequent speaker at conferences around the world. 


Click here for PROGRAM SCHEDULE of Annual Meeting

Click here for registration form for 2012 Annual General Meeting (AGM)



Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

John Walter, CEO, Standards Commission of Canada

Temuulen, Deputy Director, Erdenes MGL

Norihiko Kato, Acting CEO, Khan Bank

Ambassador T. Zalaa-Uu

Ambassador Greg Goldhawk 

Ambassador Kh. Bekhbat

S. Battsetseg, CEO, Elbegdorj Institute 

N. Algaa, Executive Director, MNMA