NAMBC hosts ‘Mongolia Young Leaders Forum’ in Washington, DC

On March 23, the NAMBC and the Zorig Foundation USA co-sponsored a reception honoring first Fellows of the “Mongolia Young Leaders Forum” (MYLF), a group of Mongolia's best and brightest who are came to Washington, March 23-24, under the patronage of Ambassador Kh. Bekhbat. 

Eight outstanding Mongolian students enrolled in top American universities were selected as the first MYLF Fellows. The MYLF is sponsored by the Mongolian-American (MonAme) Scientific Research Center of Ulaanbaatar. The goal of the program is to bring together students from Mongolia studying at leading US universities to provide them an opportunity to meet one another, and to inspire and motivate them to think of ways to improve the future of Mongolia.

The MYLF agenda in Washington included meetings at the Mongolian Embassy, the German Marshall Fund, the World Bank, the US Congress and several think-tanks and NGOs. Forum organizer Dr. Undraa Agvaanluvsan is a visiting professor at Stanford University who previously served as an advisor on nuclear energy policy to former Foreign Minister S. Oyun.

Promoting Canadian and American education “exports” is a priority for the NAMBC. The opening reception of our Investors Conference in Ulaanbaatar in September 2008 was in honor of the “US Alumni of Mongolia” NGO (USAM), the organization of Mongolian graduates of US college and universities. That night, the NAMBC banner across the front of the Khan Bank Theater, venue of the reception, proclaimed, “Education exports ARE Big Business.”










At MYLF reception (left to right), Amar Baatartsogt  Duke University; NAMBC President Steve Saunders, MLYF Coordinator Dr. Undraa Agvaanluvsan; Greg Walden, Patton Boggs LLP, Counsel to the Zorig Foundation USA; and Baljinnyam Dashdorj, Stanford University

The following students were selected as the first MYLF Fellows:

1. Amar Baatartsogt, Electrical Engineering, Duke University
2. Baljinnyam Dashdorj, German and Urban Studies, Stanford University
3. Chinzorig Davaatseren, Information Technology and Mathematics, University of Central Arkansas
4. Tselmeg Erdenetsogt, International Business, Georgetown University
5. Mergen Nachin, Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, MIT
6. Uuganbayar Otgonbaatar, Nuclear Science and Physics, MIT
7. Selenge Turbat, Engineering, University of Virginia
8. Enkhmunkh Zurgaanjin, Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, MIT